Hangover Helper

2014 is now here, and what better way to kick start the new year than with a raging hangover and post-party bloat? Now, I myself did not partake in any alcoholic festivities but I didn’t let that stop me from poor choices and self destructive behaviors such as sloth, six hours of television and eating my feelings.
This is a very refreshing drink that I made as an experiment when I was craving ginger, and it is perfect for a hangover of any sort. I won’t call it a juice because I didn’t make it with a juicer. If you have one, simply omit the water, but it will have a much stronger taste.
The apples and ginger are great for nausea and indigestion, and the lemon and cucumber are natural diuretics. I am not some sort of natural foods guru, I just find myself bloated and nauseous on a regular basis and have consequently picked up this information.

new years resolution

Hangover Helper

Ingredients:

  • one green apple, cored, peeled and in chunks
  • 2 or 3 chunks of pineapple, or more if you like it sweeter
  • 1-2 tsp fresh grated ginger, or more if you like it spicier
  • half a large cucumber, peeled, seeds cut out, and in chunks
  • juice of half a small lemon (about 1 tbsp)

Place everything in a blender, add water until it just reaches top of ingredients, and blend until completely smooth.  Strain through fine mesh strainer into bowl, pour into glass and refrigerate.

Happy New Year!!

Standard

Leave a Reply

